Skip to content

Witi Ihimaera on writing politically

November 7, 2015

“With my work, I try to interrogate myself as I write. Politically as a writer am I maintaining the politics of representation required of an indigenous practitioner? And within the work, is the politics there? In my case, I began to include chunks of political observation and this, I think, accounts for the subjective/objective kind of narrative that I’ve developed as part of my style. I don’t want to give just the story. I want to provide the subtext and context and ur-text as well.”
~ Witi Ihimaera

Ref: p.294 (emphases in blue bold mine) ‘Witi Ihimaera: Interviewed by Selina Tusitala Marsh, pp.284-305 in Words Chosen Carefully: New Zealand Writers in Discussion pp.108-133, Ed. Siobhan Harvey. Cape Catley Ltd: Auckland 2010

From → Ihimaera Witi

Comments are closed.