Skip to content

literature isn’t static – Ihimaera

November 6, 2015

In an interview with Witi Ihimaera that I’ve mentioned before, Selina Tusitala Marsh asked Witi about his rewriting projects (pp.288-299). Witi explains his rewriting of Pounamu, Pounamu, Tangi, and Whanau II, adding :

“Then there’s The Matriarch, the redux edition. I wanted to take a more considered look at it and try to turn it into a better book. But honestly, I don’t know what the fuss is about! In Maoridom we’ve numerous examples of meeting houses which have been rebuilt. I was simply taking my model from this fact and also that, for me, literature isn’t static.
I was once asked on BBC Hardtalk by Gavin Esler, ‘What can Maori culture give to the world?’ I think it’s all about a tribal democratic approach which enables all voices to be heard. It’s also about ensuring that the alternative voice, the subversive voice, the voice in opposition to the main discourse, is heard. It’s also about knowing that the Maori Story never stops.” (p.299)

Ref: (emphases in blue bold mine) ‘Witi Ihimaera: Interviewed by Selina Tusitala Marsh, pp.284-305 in Words Chosen Carefully: New Zealand Writers in Discussion pp.108-133, Ed. Siobhan Harvey. Cape Catley Ltd: Auckland 2010

From → Ihimaera Witi

Comments are closed.