Skip to content

Margaret Mahy on true rationality, humour, and being alarmed

September 10, 2015

“I think highly of true rationality which I see as having more emotional and intuitive components than is commonly acknowledge. I think humour has a more spiritual function than many people are prepared to admit. I think being alarmed is a natural human condition, but on the whole I am very happy because I am living as a writer which means there is no separation between work and life, except when I am trying to type.” ~ Margaret Mahy

Ref (and I hope I have quoted her correctly – my copy is bad on the word ‘living’, but I believe that is what is written!) p.7 Duncan Ball (1985) ‘Margaret Mahy: There are no rules for writers, an interview with Duncan Ball.’ The Australian Author 17(4) December, pp.7-8

From → Mahy Margaret

Comments are closed.