Skip to content

Random poems

August 12, 2013

Just for no reason than that these poems by Brian Swete kind of caught my eye:

A Stretch of the Imagination

My brain says jump
It’s the only way to go
My body says no

Is this the right
Thing to do?
To dive out and down
Away from you

I could climb down
From here
Clutching each edge
And ledge

Or dive where
Tourists thrive

Dive and be damned
Only one thing’s for sure

I’ll make it to land

Old Habits

No more smoke-rings
round my head,
I wear a halo
now instead.

I’m quickly in
with my complaint
if others smoke
for I’m a saint.

I firmly say
that it’s not fair
to make me breathe
your smoky air.

A filthy habit,
give it away,
I stopped smoking
yesterday.

1981

Arms linked
Sharing fear
Facing Blue Squad’s
Front line
Did this happen before
At a different time?

Star of David
Pink triangle
How many in this line
Would have worn
Those symbols
At a different time?

Swastika cross
Death’s head badge
How many in that line
Would have worn
Those symbols
At a different time?

Ref: Brian Swete Poetry. self-published. (Swete – born Dunedin, 1928)

From → other NZ authors

Comments are closed.