Skip to content

Review – Dreamhunter

October 15, 2012

a bit of an aside, but in the ‘Favourite Reads of 2006’ section of Children’s Literature in Education 2007, 38: 297-301, Margaret Mackey reviewed Dreamhunter by Elizabeth Knox and wrote the following:

“I am not a committed fantasy reader, nor a fan of cliffhanger endings in which readers are left dangling until Book Two is published. I am thus a little surprised to be recommending Dreamhunter (also known as The Rainbow Opera) by Elizabeth Knox of New Zealand. This intelligent and gripping novel for adolescent readers is set in the early 20th century, an era when film was making its first mark as a narrative medium. Cousins Laura and Rose are tested as potential dreamhunters, those select few with the capacity to explore the mysterious Place and bring back its dreams for other people to enjoy.

I was converted to this fantasy thriller by the cousins’ compelling and thought-provoking adventures. I was also intrigued by the thematic commentary on the role of stories as social organizers and sometimes social manipulators. I was fascinated by how the Place and its secrets resonated with my own understanding of the social role of movie fictions. Knox does an excellent job of exploring the negative and sinister qualities of stories as well as the fascinating and positive; questions of truth, fiction, persuasion and mass hypnosis are all very significant in this book.

In short, Knox captured my allegiance; I have already placed my pre-order for the sequel.” (p.300)

From → Knox Elizabeth

Comments are closed.