Skip to content

Challenging the emotional experiences of the majority

July 30, 2011

I just found this interesting!

“In addition to focusing on the narratives, which challenge readers’ feelings by structuring their responses, teachers also can incorporate “disturbances” that challenge the emotional experiences of the majority of students.”[1]

I guess I haven’t got it entirely clear in my head what I think here, but I guess, reading a text for its disturbance value has a certain appeal… and I wonder how this works when one considers the nature of support structures presented to readers through literature…


[1] P496 Sklar, Howard “Narrative as Experience: The Pedagogical Implications of Sympathizing with Fictional Characters” PARTIAL ANSWERS 6/2: 481–501  2008

Comments are closed.