Skip to content

Where is the line between machine and human?

May 6, 2011

Again with Isiah Lavender III… he writes: “According to Anne Balsamo, ‘cyborg identity is predicated on transgressed boundaries… formed through a radical disruption of otherness, cyborg identity foregrounds the constructedness of otherness.'”  I found this interesting… and I’ll come back to ethnicity later, but Othering is certainly a theme in Beckett’s Genesis.

I realise the protagonist, Anaxamander, is ‘artificially intelligent’, but it got me thinking about the body-mind duality with regards to Genesis

It made me wonder if what problematises this whole discussion about ‘what is human’ (a discussion that dominates Genesis) is connected to our separation of body and mind…  How important is our body to who we are as humans? How important is our body to how we think? (I would say very… so, what about other relationships with ‘the body’ in adolescent literature, like Meg Rosoff’s How I Live Now, for example…? How are the body and the mind connected? …Just wondering…)  Is this an idea worth exploring on another reading?

From → Beckett Bernard

Comments are closed.