Skip to content

Carnegie Medal

March 30, 2011

Carnegie Medal

Actually, on that note, you can’t go wrong with the Carnegie Medal, which Meg Rosoff won for Just In Case in 2007.

The books that win this medal are almost without exception really good pieces of writing.

The award criteria alone really interest me – they do pose pertinent questions, but somehow they also lead to great book selections (there are other medals that seem to award moralistic blah with no sense of story).

Another project for another day is considering the Carnegie Medal winners – not sure how, not sure with what question in mind, but they’re linked by this medal and they’re good…

NOTE : Margaret Mahy has won it twice with The Haunting and The Changeover!


From → Random Notes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s