Skip to content

Violence 101

March 27, 2011

Okay, so honestly, I haven’t yet read this book, but it’s on my shelf of must-reads.

Violence 101

Why?

Because my ‘at-risk’ 15-year-old brother-in-law gave it such an interesting write-up!

He had been banned from computer and TV at our house and taken to my book shelves. He was in the literacy programme at school and could only name The Outsiders when asked which books he had read (I suspect this was close to the truth, although he does have a latent interest in language). So, he picked the book by title and read the whole thing remarkably fast. Since I’m a proponent of ‘literacy starts with an interest in reading’, you can see why I got curious…

When I asked him what the book was about, he replied:

“It’s about this boy who’s killed two people, but he’s not a criminal.  Everyone thinks he is, but he’s not.”

WOW

‘Not-being-a-criminal’ was high on his list of personal narrative interests at the time, but I am really looking forward to reading this book and comparing my analysis against this rather unique reading perspective. He clearly engaged with the protagonist anyway…

By the by, the publishers do give one of their ‘teaching resources’ for it, which should suggest directions (is this actually written by Wright himself? I have to have another look):

http://www.penguin.co.nz/wawcs0130340/teachers-resources.html

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

